Network issue when using VMWare Server 2.0 and Windows 2008

Hi,

recently I had a problem with a Windows Server 2008 virtual machine when using VMWare Server 2.0.

I installed this virtual machine and configured network settings to use DHCP. For some reason, it was not able to receive DHCP configuration, really strange because my DHCP server was working fine, since other machines were getting IP just fine.

My first action was to check the if the DHCP server had enough IP address to distribute to clients. The DHCP scope was fine. Next, I tried to assign a static IP to the VM. For my surprise, when I ran ipconfig command at the command prompt, the result was that the default gateway IP address was there, but no client IP address and mask.

Therefore, I started to look on the internet for some related problem. Unfortunately, no luck! Sad smile

Then I was about to start a new thread on Windows Server 2008 Technet forums, but one of the suggested answers from the forums was the right one to solve my issue.

I had to follow the steps below:

  1. Run netsh int ip reset, to reset IP configuration;
  2. Reboot the server;
  3. Create ArpRetryCount DWORD value on HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters and set this value to 0 (zero).
  4. Reboot the server again.

There you go! My server was able to communicate to other network computers again using either DHCP or static configuration.

That’s it! If you are also having the problem mentioned above, it may worth try the fix above.

The Technet thread I referred to is: http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/windowsserver2008r2networking/thread/d7bda315-6366-4e0a-bdcf-dc875ff6963e

Regards,

Paulo Oliveira.

This entry was posted in Windows Server and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

